EnglishMalaysiaPilihan Editor

Journalists Must Adhere To Code Of Ethics – Radzi Jidin

Journalists must continue to adhere to the journalism code of ethics to be recognised as professionals and differentiate themselves from those who disseminate inaccurate information.

Senior Minister (Education) Dr Radzi Jidin said currently many have become ‘journalists’ and could write and disseminate information easily due to advances in technology.

However, he said, there is a difference between journalists and these individuals in terms of accuracy of the information disseminated to the community.

“It is crucial that the world of journalism today continues to adhere to core values ​​(core ethics) to ensure that news, information and analysis by journalists and writers are reliable.

“What is important is authenticity of the news, this is the advantage that journalists have, the threshold level used by journalists in general when you talk about validity of information, is very much higher,” he said in his speech when present on behalf of Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin at the Malaysian Press Night 2020 (MWM 2020) here, tonight.

In spite of that, Radzi said at times, authenticity of the information presented by journalists was not at satisfactory level.

“Indirectly, if the information given is not true, it could affect the quality or outcome of the news.

“What I see is that the core ethics should be continued so that when the public wants to refer to certain issues which have been written, the point of reference would be the writings of professional journalists as they can be relied on,” he said.

Following is the full  list of winners according to category for MWM 2020: 

1.Best Infographics – Nor Salim Mohamed Dawam and Nor ‘Asyikin Mat Hayin (Harian Metro)

2.Best Frontpage Design – Tung Eng Hwa (The Star)

3.Excellent Photo Journalism – Lek Kah Meng (Sin Chew Daily)

4. A Samad Ismail Young Journalist Award – Rebecca Grace Rajaeb Dram (The Star) and Mohd Faris Izzat Shaharudin (RTM)

5.Best Columnist – Rajan David Christy (New Straits Times)

6.Best Editorial Cartoon – Norkamaro Mohd Noor (Utusan Malaysia)

7.Excellent Photo Essay – Azhar Mahfof (The Star)

8.Excellent Investigative Reporting  – Shanjeev Reddy and Ian Yee (The Star)

9.Best Radio Reporting – Siti Safura Draoh (Nasional FM)

10.Excellent International Jornalism – Tuan Mohamad Asri Tuan Hussein (Harian Metro)

11.Best Video Documentary – Christine Lee Mei Chin, Zerry Francis, Wan Amran Wan Berahin, Mohamed Ali Othman, Megat Samsul Kamal Mohamad Zamberi, Mohd Hairul Izuan Aminuddin, Mohd Rafi Kassem, Rozaiman Maion, Mohamad Amirul Akmal Norazali, P. Jeevan M. Ponniah, Sivakumar Munian, Jasrizan Bidin, Irin Putri Azmi (TV3)

12.Excellent Feature Reporting – Rohana Nasrah (Bernama) and Fauzrina Bulka (Information Department Malaysia)

13.Best Petronas Environmental Reporting – Junita Mat Rasid, Mohamed Farid Noh, Mohd Fahmi Mohd Yusof and Mohd Abdul Illah Hafiz Abdul Aziz (Berita Harian)

14.Best Multimedia Journalism – Lee Long Hui, Nuraidila Abdul Razak, Darshini Kandasamy, Nigel Aw Heng Liang, Ho Kin Kyun, Syariman Badrulzaman, Mohd Fakhrull Abd Halim, Wong Kai Hui, Tong May Yean Geraldine, Muhammad Azneal Ishak, Ng Xiang Yi, Wahyudi Mohd Yunus, Thiagaraj Devaraj, Tham Seen Hau, Annabelle Lee Jia Wen and Vivian Yap Wei Wen (Malaysiakini)

15.Best Video Report  – Juliana Sharin, Mohd Haizal Ilhamis, Mohd Jufri Mohd Judin (TV3)

16.Excellent News Report – Siti Nor Akmaliah Razak, Siti Fatihah Awang, Adila Sharinni Wahid and Rosmiza Kasim (Sinar Harian)

17.Special Jury Award – Datuk Ahmad A. Talib


BacalahMalaysia Team

Berita portal paling trending di negara ini. Tanpa prejudis menjadikan suara rakyat didengari sewajarnya, ada kelainan, dekat di hati masyarakat dan pemerintah. Currently the country's most trending news portal. Prejudice free website that prioritizes and listens to the voice of the people with a difference, community and authority friendly

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button